230w 29.8v (vmp) solar panel for 48v battery bank

Options
luqman
luqman Registered Users Posts: 14 ✭✭
Hi, I am new to solar panels, I am currently looking at a 230w, 29.8v(vmp), I would like to know if this panel is a 12v or 24v panel and could I string some together to charge my 48v system, I am using a 5000w 48v mppt inverter

Thanks

Comments

• Raj174
    Raj174 Solar Expert Posts: 795 ✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2019 #2
    Options
    @luqman
    Welcome to the forum. This is a 20V nominal panel. It will work well if connected in strings of 3 panels in series on a MPPT charge controller. PV voltage will be about 89V.

Rick
    4480W PV, MNE175DR-TR, MN Classic 150, Outback Radian GS4048A, Mate3, 51.2V 360AH nominal LiFePO4, Kohler Pro 5.2E genset.
  • luqman
    Options
    @Raja, I am planning on getting 15 panels, with a combiner box with 6 solar inputs, so what you are suggesting is I connect 3 series making 5 strings right, then I can input them into the combiner box and then connect to my inverter 
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Check the max string voltage on the controller/inverter.  If it's 150v or more, 5 strings of 3 should work.  Some are lower though, so if (eg) 100v max, 3 is too many.
    Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,439 admin
    Options
    You want this for a 48 volt nominal battery bank?

If so, then you need Vmp~72 volts (array) with a PWM solar charger (PWM being the "less expensive" type).