Solar Panel connectors - MC4 and replacements

Sak_newhere
Sak_newhere Registered Users Posts: 11 ✭✭
Hey everyone, 

I am relatively new to this field and was hoping to get some help.

I have a few questions about the MC4s and their ideal replacements. I read the discussions about the MC4s, pros, cons in many forums and I don't want to go for them. I checked about Anderson Power Pole and few others but they don't seem to fit in my scenario. I was wondering if there are any ideal replacements for the MC4 Y connectors? The entire setup would be used on an EV (around 6 - 10 panels) therefore, should be able to withstand extreme conditions, vibrations etc. Any suggestions would be highly appreciated. 

Many Thanks!

Comments

• littleharbor2
    littleharbor2 Solar Expert Posts: 2,037 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Buy or build a combiner box. Here's a basic one.

2.1 Kw Suntech 175 mono, Classic 200, Trace SW 4024 ( 15 years old  but brand new out of sealed factory box Jan. 2015), Bogart Tri-metric,  460 Ah. 24 volt LiFePo4 battery bank. Plenty of Baja Sea of Cortez sunshine.

• Sak_newhere
    edited November 2019 #3
    Hey mate,

Thanks a lot for the reply. It is pretty much interesting and I have a direction now. But I forgot to mention that I have some constraints when it comes to the dimensions. The height of the connector/combiner box should just be 1.5 cm including the casing if needed for the ambient resistance. The length and breadth wouldn't matter that much. I went through Dinkle power boxes and I reckon that the height of any combiner box when placed horizontally or vertically would be more than that. This was the reason to go for MC4 Y in the first place. Are there anything that could fit in this bracket? 

Thanks!
  • littleharbor2
    edited November 2019 #4