Hey, Dave! Not about weeds

2»

Comments

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,731 ✭✭✭✭✭✭
    Along the same lines of the eclipse one can sign up for an e-mail of when the space station flies overhead. if you have not seen it, it is one of the nice things to see in the night sky. We have been watching it since I was a project engineer on one of the sub systems.

https://spotthestation.nasa.gov/
    "we go where power lines don't" Sierra Nevada mountain area
       htps://offgridsolar1.com/
    E-mail offgridsolar@sti.net

• icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Mark,

Word of caution about outboards and sub freezing temps.  Keep the lower unit of the outboard submerged and it won’t be damaged.  Alternatively, it looks like you have a boat lift.  Make sure the outboard is tilted completely down to drain or the water in it won’t drain.  Tilted outboards hold water and will freeze and crack.  I have to keep a boat in the water until the lake nearly freezes solid.  Our bays an inlets freeze, but my island “Harbour” doesn’t until the rest of the lake freezes.  This year we may seal up a month early with this cold snap, if we keep getting cold nights with no wind.  Once it  has sealed, it won’t reopen until May.

Tony
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I kinda wondered about outboards and freezing.  Had to pull & winterize my (I/O) boat a few weeks ago and close up the cabin for freeze-up. 

There's a little Lund and 9.9hp OB that came with the place.  One of these years maybe I'll get around to seeing if I can get it running.  My bay will be frozen over now, but lots of years I think it's open until near end of Nov.

Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • Marc Kurth
    Marc Kurth Solar Expert Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭✭