What do I have?

Options
pplwizard
pplwizard Registered Users Posts: 6 ✭✭
Hello everyone this is my first time on the Forum and I have a question but first some background. I have a Spartan 24 volt DC to AC inverter 8 wet cell lead acid batteries wired in two sets of 24 volts each and about 1500 watts of solar panels. I am running a small incubator Hatchery complete with incubators brooders and a real live refrigerator for me and some 12-volt DC lighting. All is working well I recently bought online from wish a supposedly 3000 watt 24 volt DC wind generator yet when it came there was no electronic markings on the controller or the wind generator whatsoever. I've hooked everything up correctly and even if I unplug the controller the wind generator is not spinning in the Wind. yet it spins freely by hand and I live on the top of a mountain and we have a lot of wind. the American flag which is made out of heavy cloth is virtually straight out. So my question is, is there a way to test my wind generator and the controller to verify if it in fact it is for a 24 volt system and if it is not and it's a 12-volt system what is the reaction I could expect to see when I hook it up to my 24 volt system.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    You can polish it, but it's still going to be a wind tur#

Wind turbines need clean air, at least 20 feet higher than roofs and tree tops. Turbulent wind cannot spin blades well.

Have you contacted your supplier and followed his suggestions?

The wrong voltage: if it's a 12V machine, it wants to output about 15 - 18V for battery charging, and would pretty much freewheel on a 24V system without doing any work.  24 v may trigger the brakes and stop it.

If it's not even spinning at all in a stiff breeze, that makes me think of a shorted wire somewhere or a brake engaged.   A common braking mechanism for wind turbines is to short the output and stall the rotation to save bearing life.