Help! Please Review My Wiring Diagram...

Hi All,

I'm trying to design my electrical system for an off grid camper van. I am a complete newb when it comes to electric so please forgive me. Attached is the first draft of my wiring diagram that I hope you all can make sense of. A few questions I'll propose in advance: 

-Coming of my leisure battery I have 4 wires coming off of the negative terminal and 3 coming off of the positive terminal (I may also add an alternator charger in the future which would add 2 more wires). Is this too much coming off the terminals and should I consider wiring it all to a positive and negative busbar beforehand?
-Coming off of the leisure battery, do fuses go before or after an on/off switch?
-I'm not entirely sure of the correct fuses and gauge wire to use on each connection so please look out for this.

Thanks for any and all help,
Nick

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2019 #2
    I would not use a 'load' function of the charge controller, and just hook up the 12 volt loads to the batteries.

Battery connections, with 2 batteries in parallel, should be made to the positive terminal of one and the negative terminal of the other. This provide equal resistance across the batteries.

I would use breakers instead of fuses, and use them as on/off switches in an emergency.

In general, for household wiring the 3 panels should have a breaker of fuse on each panel. I have no problem with 3 12 volt nominal, panels wired without. The idea is that 2 of the panels would be able to over power the other in case of a short, but with the max of 20 volts the risk of fire in pretty much non existent between the roof of the car and the panels.

I would 'float' the system and not try to ground to the chassis.