Grounding off grid system

yrtrnc
yrtrnc Solar Expert Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hi

System is victron quattro 10000 va inverter, 150 /70 mppt victron cc and 12 victron 100 Ah 12.8 V lifepo4 batteries wired as 51.2v 300 ah bank.

Should I ground battery minus, cc chassis and inverter chassis seperately with own ground rod or should I wire to ground bus bar in main consumer unit?

Also, solar system room is metallic. Should I bond to common earth or bond to seperate earth with battery minus, cc and inverter chassis.? If I bond battery minus and solar room would it be dangerous to accidentally touch battery positive while touching mettalic room?

Main consumer unit is 60 meters away from solar room and panels. Inverter is connected to consumer unit via 60 meter long 2 core 16mm cables and 10mm earth wire.

Regards

Comments

• yrtrnc

Solar panels mounted on metallic solar room.

• wellbuilt
    wellbuilt Solar Expert Posts: 763 ✭✭✭✭

I’m no expert , but in my system all grounds lead to a common ground rod next to my utility room which is attached to my garage .

Out back  flex power one  with out back 3648 inverter fm80 charge controler  flex net  mate 16 gc215 battery’s 4425 Watts solar .
  • Estragon
    Estragon Registered Users Posts: 4,496 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited February 2019 #4

I have my pv frames grounded to a separate plate near the arrays, but they're up high on a non-conductive structure.

In the pic, it looks like frames and conductive structure is close to ground though, so I'd ground them back to the main grounding point.

Off-grid.  
    Main daytime system ~4kw panels into 2xMNClassic150 370ah 48v bank 2xOutback 3548 inverter 120v + 240v autotransformer
    Night system ~1kw panels into 1xMNClassic150 700ah 12v bank morningstar 300w inverter
  • jonr
    jonr Solar Expert Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭✭

IMO, it's best to bond everything together and run it to a single ground point. If over 30 feet or so, bury bare copper wire in the ground to bond the two locations.