Kw/hrs grid & Solar

stmoloud
stmoloud Registered Users Posts: 111 ✭✭
edited November 2018 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Not being an electrical engineer I am curious if kw/hrs grid can be used to determine the requirements for a solar system.  For instance over a period of ten months on the grid I used an average of 103 kw/hrs, the highest month being 180 kw/hrs & the lowest being 58 kw/hrs.

Keeping in mind I am on 240V here, if that is relevant, can I use these figures to design a system which just fits my needs without being too stingy or extravagant?

Thanks!
760W panel array, 4 x 6v 220 ah Crown batteries, Tristar TS-45 PWM controller,  no name 600 PSW inverter. 

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    kWH from your utility is about perfect for working out many of your questions ahead of time.

Now the questions... Is that 103 kWH per day or per 30 days or something else?

Just to give you an idea of typical energy usage:

1,000 WH per day (1 kWH) is good for cabin lighting, 12 volt water pump, laptop computer, cell phone charging
    3,300 WH per day (3.3 kWH per day or 100 kWH per month) add refrigerator, washing machine, well pump, TV, radio. (about the minimum amount of electricity needed for a "near normal" electric life with lots of conservation. Using other fuels for cooking, heating, hot water.
    10,000 WH per day (300 kWH per month)--More electric appliances
    16,000 WH per day (500 kWH per month) -- The bottom range of a "typical" north American home's energy usage
    33,000 WH per day (1,000 kWH per month) -- The upper range of a "typical" NA home (electric water heating, electric stove, etc.)
    100,000 WH per day (3,000 kWH per month) -- Heavy A/C usage in Texas / all electric home

1,000 WH to 3,300 WH per day system is a fairly reasonable Do It Yourself system (if you are so inclined). Larger systems you may need to contact a professional.