Solar PV system DC fuse keeps blowing

Hi!

I have a 6.5Kw system installed with a SMA Sunnyboy inverter. Works great normally. One DC fuse blew 2 years ago and I replaced. However, it blew again repeatedly every 6 months. There are four DC fuses and this particular one keeps blowing. Any idea why this is happening?

I am not a Pro.

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    So, I'm guessing these are fuses for the incoming solar panels, perhaps someone with a dc clamp meter could check to see if the current coming in from each string is even...

Perhaps they wired your panels incorrectly. Do you have panels in a multiple of 4? maybe 28 panels which would be strings of 7 panels...
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Alternately, you might shut everything down and read the voltage coming in on each fused string one at a time. Or at least do the one that keeps blowing and another to get a comparison. The fuses are rated for amps, which shouldn't change regardless of how many panels are in a string. but they could be past the max voltage with additional panels.

What mightbe happening is a bad connection internally, if the string is plugged into the inverter near the fuse and the connection is a bit loose or other connections are loose, the added heat will run along the line and may trip burn the fuse.