Building an Off-Grid house in Alaska, now what?

aksala
aksala Registered Users Posts: 57 ✭✭
 So I'm trying to do my homework. I have no previous experience with solar outside of a solar powered gate opener. I'm here to learn, ask questions and hopefully figure some things out. I may very well utilize the expertise of a system installer but I still like to know what is being specified makes sense and I'll also likely be the one maintaining things later. So it pays to know what's going on.

The home will be in Alaska. I have insolar data for the location is about 3.3 average for the year. I'm more interested in Mar - Sep, when I can get 4.1, 5.5, 5.2, 5.0, 4.8, 4.2 and 3.3 for an average 4.5. I can clear all the land I need to clear the panels from any shading. I intend to ground mount the panels. 

In designing it's a given that in the winter, you're just going to be paying a fuel bill for diesel instead of paying the utility for power. So the goal is to get what I can from the solar array within a reasonable budget but to also size the battery bank so that I can run the house but only have to run the genset for a few hours a day, keeping my fuel bill to at least resemble the low end of what I'd be paying the utility if I could afford the $90,000.00 to hook up! 

I started to tackle this by looking at my current usage, but quickly determined that using my current grid tied home is not a good comparison for what I'll be using in the new home. So started by plugging things into a watt meter and putting things into a spreadsheet. This is when I started to get worried because I'm not building a small cabin in the woods with the intent to live an austere off-grid lifestyle. No, I'm trying to live much as we do now on the grid and continue to support a kennel of dogs, which means I have a couple of extra refrigerators and a couple of large freezers to go along with everything else.