coffee makers not so bad?

2»

Comments

• Johann
    Johann Solar Expert Posts: 245 ✭✭✭
    edited October 2016 #32
    Yeah the kuerig is cheap on wattage, but man, oh man, those kuerig cups are expensive compared to buying whole beans and grinding them yourself with good old Mr.Coffee.
    Or you just buy a refillable cup for the kuerig coffee maker and use/fill with the choice of coffee you want.
  • jonr
    jonr Solar Expert Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭✭
    My guess for most efficient hot coffee or tea with electricity is a cartridge heater dropped into a thermos.

I am available for custom hardware/firmware development

• solarvic
    solarvic Solar Expert Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭✭
    I am new to keureg coffee brewers. and only turn it on when I want to make a cup of coffee. My users manual says if you leave it on all the time it uses about the same amount of electric as a 60 watt bulb on 24/7. I bought some plastic caps called  MY CAPS from Amazon. They have the address stamped on them with the address www.my-kaps .com and I think you might be able to buy them directly from the seller. You save the k-cups after you use them then clean out the used coffee keeping the filter intact. You can refill them with your own coffee and press the plastic my k-cap into the top. I like mine and it makes the coffee a lot cheaper to use. Also I got a Icoffee brewer that I feel makes a better cup of coffee than the Keurig brewer 
  • kc8adu
    kc8adu Solar Expert Posts: 50 ✭✭✭
    as for the 12v coffeemakers dont bother.
    they take forever and dont work very well.
    a $5 on sale proctor silex we have at the shop beats it in every way.
    i ran it on an inverter at hamvention and was making 4 pots a morning for our group and the vendors either side of us.
    no impact on battery life.
    but i have 4 8d agm under the bed/rear seat of the van.
    that setup can support a lot of stuff for a day.
    and we ran a pot then shut it off.the warmer is a big load if you leave it on all day.