Boiling Mad

Sakamochi
Sakamochi Registered Users Posts: 26 ✭✭

System:

Location: Northeastern AZ 5500 ft elevation. Full sun exposure 6 am to 7 pm midsummer.

48 volt system 16 Interstate L16 new in 7/2014 with water miser caps in Battery box with Auto exhaust

MX-60 Charge Conroller

Xantrex 5500(?) Inverter Charger

16 Kyocera 140 watt with Wattsun Tracker

900W Wind Generator

12 kw Kohler Propane Auto Backup Gen installed Dec 2015. It has come on automatically twice in this time due to low battery voltage. Batteries are in perfect condition 99% of the time.

The controller, wind gen, inverter are all original equipment 2007. The home is occupied 1/3 of the year. The power usage occupied is 5 kw per day, away is 2.3 kw per day. Generator has been used twice by auto on feature meaning thatthe batteries are  99.9 OK all the time.

FYI I am a retired electronics engineer. I take care of my system like it was my first born, always super maintained. I check SG, battery individual voltages at night, etc.

Problem #1: February 2011 original Trojan L-16s failed catastrophically due to boil out, Service company said the Trojans failer all over and they were junk after making some construction change in 2006. Thet were replaced with Rolls 400(?) @ $6,000

Problem #2: Rolls began to have some batteries with low SG after about one year. I tried making a claim which went largely nowhere even though I keep records of SG, temps, usage etc. The rest had some catastrophic failures (not all about half) in July 2014. Different sevice company found that 25% of my panels were disconnected internally due to water leakage in a junction box and corroded open leaving 75% power. I thought that probably explained A) why my power output was only getting to 1500 watts and B) why the batteries may have failed in the end. There was no auto backup gen in that time period, however, power never went down then either.