I need help picking system components for my size panels

Red
Red Registered Users Posts: 3

Hi all, I'm new to the solar power generation and would like some help. I came across

5 panels, KD140SX-UFBS

4 batteries, Gel type not sure of brand off hand (made for solar)

Charge controller, ProStar 30 version PS-30M

Misc. breakers and wires that came with the original charging system

I've been looking at other peoples systems and was set on having a grid tied with battery backup but its starting to look like it will be much harder to do since my panels are lower voltage than the higher wattage panels. it also looks like having an odd number of panels will also hurt me.

I've looked into the micro inverters such as the enphase m250 and a couple others but it looks like they need higher voltage to stay running. Which I could do by running my panels in series but I also read that the micro inverters can't be hooked to two panels.

My main plan was to get an MPPT charger, a grid tie inverter, and then I was going to hook a 120V coil contactor and time delay relay in line with just a single circuit in my house (my living room) so if I lost power the battery power would be isolated from the grid and I would still have a room with lights, TV, and internet (I know... not really the basics, but the girlfriend would like it).

That is my main plan if anyone can help with components I should use or why my plan wouldn't work let me know. I've watched a lot of videos on other peoples systems and there is always a reason why I think mine just wouldn't work if I did it the same way. So I'm looking for some insight before I just buy something and then find out it wont work.

Thanks in advance,

Steve

Comments

• Red

This is the spec sheet for the panels I have. (KD140)

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not sure if you are considering buying this, or if you did buy it.