Diversion load question

zeppole
zeppole Registered Users Posts: 4
Please bear with me since I am a Newbie to this Forum.  I have an array of 310W panels set up as 4 strings of 4 panels each for a total of 16 panels.  The array feeds a Magnum Energy PT-100 charge controller.  At NOCT the array should deliver roughly 30 amps of current at roughly 120 volts DC.

I want to use the auxiliary relay on the PT-100 to control  an Omron 600VDC 100AMP DC contactor to divert the array output to a water heater when the battery bank reaches float.

Does anyone see any issues with this??

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    Welcome to the forum Zeppole.

Some questions I would have:
    • How will the Charge Controller behave when the array voltage/current is "hijacked". Will the controller, for example, properly change from float to charge and/or additional current to the battery bank when a well pump turns on (will the array "steal" current from powering your other DC Bus loads).
    • There is an Arc Fault detection system on this controller... I don't expect that your contactor+water heater loads to trip it--But if tripped, will the controller shut down until there is a manual reset.
    • The MPPT charge control does "optimize" the Current and Voltage from the solar array to obtain Pmp=Vmp*Imp. When you connect your heating element directly to the array, you will probably not experience optimum energy transfer from the array to the heating element. You may find out that even with all of the losses (0.95 charger * 0.85 AC inverter ~ 0.81 AC conversion efficiency) vs the array to heating element coupling. You may get, overall (time, temperature, weather, etc.) energy transfer to the heater by connecting to your AC inverter (possibly even a second "cheap inverter" to power the heating element--Use the float function to control the second inverter).