Building a Skoolie

Options
sasquatters
sasquatters Registered Users Posts: 41 ✭✭
Hello everyone!

I come here seeking help. I was previously on another forum (not worth mentioning) full of rude "experts" that were anything but willing to help. Someone over there posted a link to this site stating that this crowd here is way more inclined to help, and then his post got deleted. So...

I am working on building a skoolie that we will be living in full time because we are tired of paying bills and we would like to travel. I am completely new to solar but have read about panels, and loads, and batteries, and it is still all very much a foreign language. My buddy is also building a bus at the same time so we are getting a lot of the same parts. Our bus will have smart home functionality while his will not. So if someone, or multiple people, could help me figure out what solar setup we would need that we be really great. I would like to have this complete by spring. The bus is fully gutted at this point, spray insulation is coming soon and solar and wiring is after that.

Products going into the RV:

Eccotemp LP on Demand Water Heater (This only needs a spark for ignition)
Refrigerator (24/7) (Not 100% set on this one)
Water Pump 12v (<10 minutes a day)
Water Pump 24v (<10 minutes a day)

I am unsure about which pump because from what I understand a <1000w solar setup should use the 12v and >1000w should use the 24v. Without knowing how much solar I will need I will not know which pump to get.

Macbook Pro (7 hours a day) (Charger says 60w 16.5V 3.65A)
Samsung TV (<3 hours a day)
Projector (For watching things outside under the awning. Weekend use? Cannot really give an amount of hours)
Lights x8 (8 hours a day but not all will be on at once)

Smart Home Items: (the switches and outlets have small green lights that always stay on which is why they are labeled 24/7)

Router (24/7)
Insteon Hub (24/7)
Light Switch x7 (24/7)
6 Button Switch (24/7)
Outlets x16 (24/7)