Water for a Community Garden

Mik_Kan
Mik_Kan Registered Users Posts: 10 ✭✭
Hi,
I am new to solar power and would appreciate a lot of help. I am planning a community garden (45'x50') in my association and need a way to provide water for the garden. It is in a remote location but there is a lake 70 ft away from the garden. I am thinking of using a 12v submersible pump that will run off of 12v batteries, and will be charged by a solar battery charger or solar panel. The total run of the water line would be about 150ft and the pump will have about 5ft rise in elevation. There will will be 2 bibs with garden hose attached. My question is what size pump would I need, how many batteries and type, what size solar panel or solar battery charger and how to control the pump when someone wants to use the garden hose. Would I need a pressure tank set up or can it be done by a switch. There is a concrete overflow for the lake that I think I can install a pump next to. Also can you give me an estimate on the cost because I have a budget I have to stick to.
  Like I said I am new to all this so be gentle with me .
Since I do not see anyway of posting a picture I will give a link of a pic I took off of google earth
http://oi63.tinypic.com/fcp9y1.jpg

Thank you for any help you can give

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    You should be able to add photos (there is a black square/piece of paper with the corner pulled back in the edit window above)--And you should be able to drag and drop the photo directly into the edit box:
    bra hrefhttpoi63tinypiccomfcp9y1jpg target_blankView Raw Imagea
    Note, the above picture has "white space" around it--would need to be edited to get rid of this for a "clean" drag&drop. But it does work.