Computer keeps shutting down after plugging freezer into inverter

Hello.

I have an off-grid system I've been running for about five years. Have a Magnum pure sine MMS1012G Inverter that is not hardwired. Just has 2 outlets on the inverter itself. This system is set up in my RV with solar panels and golf cart batteries and I bring it into the house with extension cords, mostly to run a Mac computer system (all day, work at home) TV and a light or two. Not an ideal situation I know.

This weekend I bought a Kenmore freezer. By the way, anyone looking for a super efficient freezer, this thing is great. It is 5.1 cu.ft and runs on less than 1 amp and around 67 watts. Rock solid food fast. $200, so much more economical than a DC freezer. Quite the find.

I hooked up the freezer on Saturday and worked on the computer for about 3 hours on Sunday with no issues. This morning, I turn on the computer and within 20 minutes the computer just shut down and it has been doing this all day. After awhile it was just shutting down after about a minute. Spent the day looking on Mac forums and trying different things, but nothing worked. Finally decided to hook up my generator and run the computer on it and it is not shutting down anymore.

So I'm thinking the issue is with the inverter in conjunction with the freezer and computer running at the same time. I have the freezer on one outlet on the Magnum and everything else is on the other outlet. My question is, could there be some sort of interference from the freezer that is affecting my iMac even though it is running on a separate outlet? It is not affecting anything else on that outlet, printer, Macbook Pro laptop, TV, lights, all working fine with the freezer plugged in.

And if there is some sort of interference is there a fix of some sort, aside from disconnecting the freezer during the day?

Any help would be appreciated.

Teri

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭