How much wattage do I need to run my ham radio

martinhoover
martinhoover Registered Users Posts: 2
Hello, I am new to the solar world and I need some help on my first project. I am my ham radio operator and a backpacker and am trying to design a radio package for backpacking keeping it as light as possible. My question is how much wattage of by rollup type solar panel do I need to run my radio and keep the 13.2 V battery charged.
The specifications of my radio are on receive my radio uses one amp on transmit it uses 22 A at 100 W. Not transmit to receive time is less than 20%.
When I transmit or in a conversation it rarely goes over one minute in length. So that using 22 A and 100 W for a minute. My little 13.2 lithium battery that I have will last me on 100 W for about 30 minutes of normal talk time. My goal is to have a solar panel with enough wattage and voltage to keep my little battery charged.
Any help would be greatly appreciated as well as mathematical equations on how to figure this stuff out.
Thanks

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You are a Ham Operator and cannot figure out watt hours consumed ?    Something is very fishy here......

But to answer your question, 22A @ 13V is 286 watts consumed.   That is a full size Grid tie panel.  You might get away with a 100w of pv panel and limit your talk time even more.

Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Blindowl1234