Surprised by battery water useage......

Options
I have had my solar set up running for about 4 months after adding my Outback 3524 inverter, MX60 and 12 L16 Crown batteries and 3 130 panels to my existing 3 120 panels and my 6 90 watt panels.

My system is definitely NOT enough. I Have have to run the generator about every day or every other day to try and keep the batteries charged.

Here's the kicker........My batteries have used NO WATER ever...........Any ideas of what gives?

Dennis in Bagdad..........AND I'M STILL NO SOLAR EXPERT............

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Surprised by battery water useage......

Batteries loose water by evaporation (very slowly) and when they reach nearly full charge, they start to electrolyze water, which produces:

O2 gas
    H gas
    and as all the little bubbles float to the surface and pop, they spray a few teeny tiny droplets of water/acid out too.
    That's where the water goes.

If you have to run a generator daily, and batteries do not ever fully charge, and get equalized once in a while, they will fail very early in life. Try running the generator to get the bulk of the charge into the batteries in the AM, and let the solar do the slow top-off for the last 20% of the charge.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Solar Guppy
    Solar Guppy Solar Expert Posts: 1,989 ✭✭✭
    Options