Determining the Wind Rating for a DIY Solar Ground Mount

Hey Guys!

I'm constructing a ground mount for my solar panel that is similar to the one found in the video. While putting the system in pretty straightforward, I still live in Florida, so I want to be reasonably sure that the system can withstand some of the weather that we get here. The system is not a grid tie-in, nor does it need to signed off by PE; but I would still like to know what kind of wind rating my system will have (I would like for the system to be able to withstand at least 150 MPH winds). I have an undergraduate degree in Mechanical Engineering, but it's been awhile since I've worked with any structural equations. Do you guys have any recommendations on how to proceed?

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    soil analysis to see how stable it is when wet. Then you size the anchors to hold the wind load in n soil You may need to hire an engineer to check or school you in the method. I'm an EE and don't know the mech side too well.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• Dave Angelini
    Dave Angelini Solar Expert Posts: 6,728 ✭✭✭✭✭✭