schneider context XW6848, 5548, 4048 inverter opinions?

Comments

• new2PV
    new2PV Solar Expert Posts: 305 ✭✭
    Explain the gen support feature, if it shares loads with the battery that means the inverter must be on. If the inverter is on then the power will be a mix of clean power and dirty power?
    XW6848 inverter with 2 X mppt 60 150 CC , with Canadian solar 260Watt panels 2 x 3.5 kw array
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    I am not an inverter engineer... My guess.

You have a genset (or any AC voltage source) that is (more or less) connected directly to the AC loads.

Put a current transformer and voltage tap in the middle and connect to inverter electronics.

Connect a GT Inverter (really a Hybrid inverter-charger in "GT Mode" to the wiring down stream of the current tap.

The electronics measure the direction and amount of current from the AC source. You program 10 amps @ 120 VAC maximum (1,200 Watts) as the maximum from AC input.

1. No AC. AC Mains disconnects from Hybrid Inverter, operates in Off Grid Mode (supplying loads from Battery Bank power--AKA as voltage source)
    2. AC Power, light to moderate AC loads. AC mainst connected to AC output. AC inverter is in GT/Charger mode. Electroncs measure AC in current... If AC loads+AC Charger are less than 10 amps, take difference and run GT inverter "backwards" to charge the battery bank (at needed battery voltage and current). GT inverter operates as "current source" (AC Mains provides AC Frequency/Sine-Wave Voltage).
    3. AC Power, Heavy AC loads. Electronics "see" AC mains >10 amps, stop charging and go to GT mode. Pump enough current from GT Inverter to AC Loads to keep AC in at 10 amps or less. (GT Inverter or "Current Source" mode).

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭