PV panel mounting?

kaipo_boy
kaipo_boy Solar Expert Posts: 143 ✭✭
Solar newbie here. I've just received three new Trina 285w panels and boy are they pretty. This should probably be posted in a different section but they will be connected to my small battery system, so I figured I'd stick with this section of the forum. You guys have probably covered this ground many times, so feel free to point me to the correct place to go look it up...
The panels themselves feel like they weigh close to 40 lbs each and are maybe 77" x 39?" or thereabouts. They have a C shaped aluminum box section wrapping around the exterior dimensions. The corners are not mitered. The thickness (height) of the C channel is about 1.800" plus or minus a few thousands of an inch. So, along the longest axis, there are 3 holes drilled on each long leg; one in the middle, and one each at around the 1/4 mark... presumably for mounting.
My questions:
(1) I'm juggling several different designs in my head for making the mounting hardware. At first, I figured just use these existing mounting holes and bolt them to a cross beam made of steel or something.... has anyone noted any type of adverse galvanic reaction when combining these aluminum extrusion frames with a steel crossmember? I do have aluminum C channel extrusions of about the same size as the frames that I can use for a crossmember but those are not as big or as strong as I would like, given 3 abreast might provide a pretty good lift in a gust.