Will this string configuration work?

softdown
softdown Solar Expert Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭✭
Configuring strings has got to be the most mind numbing exercise that I have participated in. This is my third(!) thread (2 here) trying to get my strings configured properly.

Equipment: 18 Grape Solar 190 watt panels 45 Voc 36 Vmp 5.5 Isc
Outback MPPT FM80 charge controller 150 VDC
Minimum winter temperature -32F (butt cold)

The challenge comes from:
1) 18 panels is a bit quirky. 16 would have been easier.
2) 45 Voc in a very cold climate limits me to two panels in series (unless one uses a Midnite CC made for Hyper Voc).

Being a relative newbie, I somehow assumed that my Charge Controller would have multiple inputs for multiple strings. Well....it has one. I was sick a couple weeks ago and balked at the idea of wiring up a 12 string combiner with 9 strings by myself. Pre-wired 12 string combiners costs $600 - well over my budget. So I bought five pre-wired 2 string combiners. Thinking that my charge controller would have room for at least six incoming wire pairs. There are some advantages to several small string combiners so I believe that may work out.

Four of the combiners will handle four panels/combiner. The fifth combiner will handle two panels and leave expansion room for two more future panels.

Now I still have to combine the output from five small combiners into a single combiner box with one 2AWG output. My math shows that each combiner box will feature two panels in series and two parallel strings. So the output Voc is 90 (Vmp is 72). Looks OK for a 48 volt battery array.

The fab shop thinks this is going to work. I just got a clamp style voltage meter so I can double check as I proceed.

I'm sure that there was probably a better way to do it. Like getting a 12 string combiner box and wiring it myself. But I was sick and didn't feel comfortable doing that.