Complete newb question

icabod
icabod Registered Users Posts: 2
Recently purchased a small wind turbine (600w). I have it installed at 30 feet, it works well. Here's the question: I'm still waiting on my charge controller to arrive....and this thing is spinning away not hooked up to anything. Could I be damaging it?

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Complete newb question

Welcome to the forum.

Just from spinning? No, that won't damage it.

But when the wind does kick up and really sets it turning don't be surprised if it flies apart in a thousand pieces, with or without the wiring connected.

Yeah, they don't ever tell you about that possibility do they?

How do you know it "works well" if it's not connected?
    And if it's connected to batteries without a charge controller there's always the possibility it may produce enough current to damage the batteries (unregulated charging).
  • icabod
    icabod Registered Users Posts: 2

Not understanding why it would fly apart? It works well in the fact it tracks the wind direction well and appears stable in moderate wind. I was concerned that I haven't yet hooked it to my battery bank. I've been a solar guy up till now and thought I'd play around a bit. Living on the coast of Nova Scotia we sometimes get more wind than sun.
  • Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    icabod wrote: »
    Not understanding why it would fly apart? It works well in the fact it tracks the wind direction well and appears stable in moderate wind. I was concerned that I haven't yet hooked it to my battery bank. I've been a solar guy up till now and thought I'd play around a bit. Living on the coast of Nova Scotia we sometimes get more wind than sun.

It's called "overspeed". No load or braking on the turbine and it can spin freely, well above its design limits. That's when it comes apart because it was never meant for that much stress.