Off grid system recommendations

mattg
mattg Registered Users Posts: 17 ✭✭
Hi, this is my first post to this forum (I'm also posting it on a few of the larger similar forums) - I'm somewhat new to all this, but I've been doing a lot of research into off grid power setups for the last couple of months, since purchasing a piece of land in New Zealand. My family of four will be moving there from here in the US in 6 - 18 months from now, we'll start building our house shortly after we arrive.

I've been quoted $20,000 to run grid power to the site we'll be building on. I've always wanted to get off the grid as much as possible, so it was a no-brainer to decide not to pay that kind of money to be grid tied!

Seems to me the site is ideal for off grid power - the land is mostly on a north facing side of a hill (Southern Hemisphere, so north facing being best). I have a stream on one boundary, that should give me about 30 feet of head with good enough flow in summer to give me .5 to 1kW (rough estimate). And I have an elevated spot above the building site that would seem to be good place to put a small wind turbine.

Researching the New Zealand prices of the gear I'm looking at purchasing, it didn't take long to see that I'd be much better off sourcing a lot of it here in the US before leaving. We'll be shipping our gear over in a 40 foot container which will have some room to spare, so it's not going to add to the cost of the move.

I have a preliminary list of what I'm planning to purchase, based on a combination of my research and various recommendations I've received. As I have no practical experience, I can see there is a high possibility of making some wrong choices here. So I'd be grateful for any guidance anyone can offer on this proposal, or different approaches, as there are no doubt many oversights I've made: