Solar array and grounding

Hill_Country
Hill_Country Solar Expert Posts: 96 ✭✭
I will soon be installing two pole-mounted solar arrays (two General Specialties UPM6x's) to be located about 125 feet (one way) away from where our off-grid power center will be (i.e. charge controller, inverter, load center, etc.) on the house. I will have a MidNite Solar combiner box on one of the UPM6x pole-mounted arrays.

I've done quite a bit of online research/reading on these forums and I wanted to see if I'm on the right track in terms of wiring and grounding (both equipment grounding and lightning grounding).

Due to the distance between the solar array combiner box and the power center/house (~125 ft. one way), I'm wondering what the best way is to properly ground this arrangement for both equipment grounding AND lightning grounding. Since I'm a newbie at this, I'm open to advice. I've got two general questions, labeled below...

Question #1: Lightning Ground
I'm thinking that it is best to have a ground rod located right near the foundation to one of the two UPM6x pole mounts. I would then connect a continuous #6 AWG bare copper wire between both UPM6x's to the ground rod, then to the Ufer ground (bottom footing rebar encased in concrete over 20ft. in length) at the house 125 feet away via that continuous #6 AWG bare copper wire. So, in effect, there is a #6 AWG bare copper wire that runs from one UPM6x to the other UPM6x and into the Combiner box, then underground to the main system ufer ground at the house. Does this #6 AWG bare copper wire need to be run in conduit between the two UPM6x's (pole mounts) and in conduit between the ground rod and the ufer ground at the house? Or should it be direct buried with no conduit? If conduit is suggested, can it be the flexible, non-metallic type conduit?

Question #2: Equipment Ground and Wiring