Basic Camping Power via 12V Solar Panel + 2400W Inverter + Deep Charge 12V battery??

Absolute Newbie to the solar power to 110 power for camping. I got lost reading posts in the forum and external links; My Ditz =) I "think" I have it figured out... but not sure and am double checking by posting here so input would be greatly appreciated.

I have 1 12V solar panel, connected to a controller (to prevent overcharging of a battery), the controller connected to one deep charge battery with a 2400W Inverter coming off of the battery with appropriate battery-to-inverter cables to provide myself with regular 110V electricity during dry camping. (My dry camping consists mainly of staying over during dog show weekends. I'd like my dog and I to be as comfy as possible and have light & internet from my conversion van & awning set up.) The inverter has 3 3-prong 110 plugs. Although I live in Arizona with plenty of sun available, I do travel to other states also.

My needs for electricity consist of basic weekend necessities of small coffee pot in the morning or I'm a real grouch <grin> plus maybe simple lights, computer, phone charge, etc ... maybe even a fan during the hot of the day... on an 'as needed' basis; not all at once necessarily although maybe lights, computer & cell phone charge might all be at once during evening relaxing hours.

Am I headed in the right direction with what I have and is what I have sufficient to meet my needs/desires? I have not tested my solar system yet; plan to this coming weekend to see if it all 'works' but would appreciate input from those experienced in these matters.

Thank you so much for your time in reading and hopefully letting me know if I've got this solar thangy figured out. =)

Silk
Bikerstyle +
owned by "Jack" the Ridgeback

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Basic Camping Power via 12V Solar Panel + 2400W Inverter + Deep Charge 12V battery??

Welcome to the forum.