Laptop Charging Station for Schools

Arrow
Arrow Registered Users Posts: 11
Hi everyone!

I'm very new to the Solar game and though I've done some preliminary research on this I know I must be missing something and I'd love to hear what you have to offer.

I want to build an outdoor laptop charging station so we can have classes outdoors. I want to hook up four 150W solar panels to a charge controller which will charge and protect my battery bank (I'll use a boat battery or a few scooter batteries connected in parallel). These batteries will also be connected to an inverter that can output the sort of wattage that 10 or so laptop computers will need to operate.

My laptop is old and requires 90W but newer computers generally require half that power. So a 12V, 50Ah battery bank should be able to sustain 8 to 12 laptops for an hour. And if the sun is shining and the panels are feeding 600W into the controller, it should maintain itself pretty much at steady state (minus inefficiencies and losses).

Is there a fundamental flaw in my thinking? (Where) will I need to put fuses and diodes to protect my system? Do I have to worry about wire gauge?

Thanks for your help! I look forward to your responses.

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Re: Laptop Charging Station for Schools

Welcome to the forum.

I have to ask: what is the purpose of this project? Educational demonstration?
    It isn't very practical for a couple of reasons; it's pretty hard to use a laptop outdoors in bright sunlight and they generally have their own batteries in them that will last a couple of hours anyway.

To that end it may be a good idea to look at the DC requirements of the laptops you plan on powering and see if you can't skip the inverter stage altogether; some will run off 12 VDC, albeit perhaps requiring a specific "car adapter".