Demonstration of Generator Support

Comments

• NorthGuy
    NorthGuy Solar Expert Posts: 1,913 ✭✭
    Re: Demonstration of Generator Support
    ChrisOlson wrote: »
    So what they're telling you there is that if you use a higher gen input than what the inverter's transformer is capable of balancing, the input current will override what the transformer can do for leg balancing and it won't work due to the excess current circulating in the center tapped transformer.

I'm not an expert in transformers, much less in generators. So, I may be wrong. That's how I understand this:

Say there's a load on L1, and no load on L2. Say the load is big enough to decrease voltage between N and L1. Then N-L2 winding will have higher voltage than N-L1. As a result, the N-L2 winding will be acting as a primary winding of a transformer, and N-L1 will be acting as a secondary, so that current through N-L2 will induce current in N-L1, which is then is consumed by the load on L1. This will continue until voltage on N-L2 increases to the same value as N-L1 (assuming windings are the same). As a result, the load on L1 will be supported by both the generator and the transformer, and N will be exactly between L1 amd L2. It does not automatically mean that there will be equal current in both L1 and L2 coming from generator, so there could be some help with balancing but far from 100%.

When the generator is weak, it is not capable of keeping N between L1 and L2. There may be a good amount of balancing in the process of moving N to mid-point between L1 and L2.

When the generator produces output with N being already in the middle between L1 and L2 (as Generac does), there will be no effect at all. That's exactly what I observed with Generac.
  • ChrisOlson
    ChrisOlson Banned Posts: 1,807 ✭✭