Adding a junction box to a E-Panel question?

Photowhit
Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
OK I'm doing a little prewiring and checking out things, drilling the holes and generally getting things ready to be installed Thursday. The first day with above freezing temps since i was ready(ish)

First the reason for adding the 6x6 junction box is I will have 3 classics hooked up to the E-Panel and i think it's the most practical way to do it. Yell stop if you have a better way! From my calc's I can't fit all the 4 and 6 gauge wire through1" conduit to do it with a string of 'T's(I'm not an electrician but I bet you can understand that)

So I'm going to use a 2" nipple made from connectors and a tiny piece of pipe, and I have a lock nut and insulating bushing. I think normally you would put a lock nut on either side of each box? What I'd like to do is tighten down the Insulated bushing and then tighten the lock nut from the other side of each box and just use one locknut from the middle out. Both boxes will be screwed into a mount board so they aren't going anywhere. The reason for this is to help, bend/wrap the wires back to the wall of the E-Panel so it won't project so far into the Panel making wiring inside as clean as possible.

Am I on solid ground or should I go ahead and put lock nuts on either side?

My intentions are to have 1 1" conduit going up out of the junction box serving 1 classic and 1 1" going out the side servicing 2 Classics branched off with a 'T' one going into the side of the far left one and one going into the bottom of the middle one. If I plan nicely I should get a nice stepped effect.

Don't listen to Queen and Please do "Stop Me Now" if you have some ideas.

My primer is drying so I have a little while before i dry test things, and won't make anything solid mounted until Thursday noon or so...