Would anybody mind to have a look at my diagram?

aleman83
aleman83 Registered Users Posts: 24
Good Morning everybody,

I have worked on a diagram this morning, and was wondering if you guys could have a look at it for me. I am a carpenter and not an electrician, so I hope it makes enough sense to you.

Attachment not found.

I know that the battery is big for right now, but I want to buy 3 more panels and another Midnite solar classic as soon as I get the money.

Have a great morning everybody,

Aleman

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Would anybody mind to have a look at my diagram?

Where is that 12 volt fuse box coming from? --vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • SCharles
    SCharles Solar Expert Posts: 123 ✭✭
    vtmaps wrote: »

That was the first question that jumped out at me.

And you can do it, just not as you have drawn. We do it at our home. The way we do it is to run the output from the controller(s) to a distribution block. From the block, we run DC [12 v.] to a distribution set-up for all our DC circuits. From the block we also run the DC to the batteries. In short, everything from the PV arrays runs into a distribution block [a hefty one], then the electricity is "distributed" from the block to both the battery bank and the DC load center. Of course, we also have the cables to the inverter run from the block.

Distribution blocks, by the way, are not expensive. A big one can be had for $50 or sometimes less if you shop around. You will need one that will accept heavy cables [such as for the battery].
  • aleman83
    vtmaps wrote: »

That's just a regular old car fuse box that I've modified for my needs ;)
  • vtmaps
    aleman83 wrote: »
    That's just a regular old car fuse box that I've modified for my needs ;)