Generator Fuel Consumption Test

A recent thread on fuel consumption of generators sparked my interest in doing a controlled specific fuel consumption test on some portable generators. Being a retired engineer I LOVE testing stuff. And I don't know of anybody who has ever done it. There's a lot of claims out there by manufacturers, but how accurate are they?

I called a friend who has a Yamaha EF3000iSE inverter gen that he uses for his camper. And I got an old worn out Generac GP3250 we're going to test. The Generac is in poor shape as it has about 4,000 hours on it. The valve guides are worn out and it burns a lot of oil. But it starts and runs on the first pull yet. I wish I had a newer one to test, but it's all I got available for now.

It's a cold windy day here and we needed a shop project anyway.

I don't where the proper place is on the forum to post the test information on standby or portable gens. This seemed like the logical section of the forum since these generators are most times used for off-grid backup, or for folks who have grid power, standby when the grid fails.

My friend is bringing his Yamaha to my shop this afternoon, then we're going to proceed to play with them :D
--
Chris

Comments

• waynefromnscanada
    waynefromnscanada Solar Expert Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭✭
    Re: Generator Fuel Consumption Test

You're gonna be surprised at how far they've come with the inverter type that allow the engine to spool down to near idle for lighter loads. AND how quiet they can be! Just no comparison with the older ones that need to continuously roar along at 3600 RPM just to maintain 60Hz.
    My cousin has a 1000 watt Honda Inverter type, always starts first pull, EXTREMELY quiet for a generator and one litre of fuel usually keeps it whispering along for 8 hours at a time.
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭

It would be interesting to do this with a number of loading profiles.