Exide EJ-11 old stock, unfilled, how good??

Options
aglicknmex
aglicknmex Solar Expert Posts: 40 ✭✭✭
Greetings to all from Sunny SW New Mexico!!

As an old Motorola tech, I have answered a lot of questions about electricity in my life, but now I need a little HELP! Im new to posting here, but often browse!!

I have access to old stock(20 yrs old) unfilled EXIDE EJ-11 BATTERIES. These are single cell lead acid. Rated at 52 amps @ 8hrs from what I have found.

Question IS?? Has anyone had experience with how well will they perform when filled with electrolyte?

Any help would be appreciated!!

Big AL

Comments

• Cariboocoot
    Cariboocoot Banned Posts: 17,615 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Exide EJ-11 old stock, unfilled, how good??

Welcome to the forum.

Are you familiar with the term "scrap metal"? :p
    The plates would have been "formed" 20 years ago when the batteries were made. That starts the process of deterioration, even if they are then drained of acid. Chances are they won't work very well if you try to energize them now. Plates may crumble and short out.

Twenty years ago Exide batteries were great batteries. But twenty-year-old batteries ... don't get your hopes up.
  • aglicknmex
    Options

Thanks ,but to clarify,

BATTERIES ARE BRAND NEW IN THE BOX, NEVER FILLED

I should have made that more clear.

Has anyone actually tried this? Filling new batteries, old stock????

Thanks!!
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options

Won't work :cry: The surface has been exposed to air too long, and you now have lead oxide plates. They won't work as good batteries anymore. They will work fine as dead batteries.

UNLESS, they had wax seals over the fill caps. even then, oxygen would get past the wax and ruin the plates.