Chasing down power loss, and other newbie questions

cruiser guy
cruiser guy Solar Expert Posts: 87 ✭✭✭✭
Newbie here so be patient with me!

I am living in Mokanji, Sierra Leone where I am working with an NGO drilling water wells a d renovating a hospital.

Where we live there is no grid power and there won't be any in the forseeable future so we are on solar power.

I made some guesses about what we might need and that when we were home in Canada and it appears my guesses were not quite on the mark and I need more panels and/or batteries.

I currently have two Carmanah 125w panels. I tried to see the specs but I can't see that right now. I'll get that info before buying the additional panels so I can follow whatever advice is offered. If I get additional panels should I put them in series or parallel with what I have? I assume I'd use one of my current panels and a new one in series and then connect those two strings in parallel. Am I right? What should I be looking for (besides the exact same panel) when buying additional panels? Is voltage, amperage or watts output most important to mate different panels?

Secondly, I have two Deka 260amp gel solar batteries in series to my 24v inverters. I have one 110v 600w GoPower Pure Sine wave inverter for my 110v stuff and one Su-Kam 220v 1400w Pure Sine wave inverter for the rest of the stuff and lights. The main stuff that is on all the time is a Kenwood "bar" fridge off of 110v (90watts nameplate). I'll charge the laptop most of the time also on 110v. We'll run some fluorescent lights for 3-4 hours at night. Not more than 2 4' lamps at any time and not for more than 3-4 hours a night. We also would like to run the ceiling fan in our bedroom and possibly the guest bedroom as necessary. Are the two 260amp batteries sufficient or do I need a second set in parallel with these?