Planning a System, please review.

klrskies
klrskies Solar Expert Posts: 30
I'm beginning to become familiar with what's involved with installing /using an off grid solar power system and would appreciate experienced thoughts.

I started learning with a harbor freight 12v, 45 watt, 3 panel amorphous cell system. It has a controller with some d.c. outputs and a volt meter. I added a single marine deep cycle battery that I dont discharge below 12.1v and I added a 400 watt modified sine wave inverter to run limited a/c applications on. I was given a crappy chinese controller that claims to be an mppt type controller. I added an analog volt meter to the panel output and digital volt and amp meters to the battery side to monitor activity.

The controller is not behaving as an mppt controller. Panel voltage seems to be coupled to battery voltage unless:

panels become shaded and then controller pulses seemingly trying to elevate and send pulsed power to the battery, or

when battery is full, it pulses to float charge, or it hits the input voltage limit of 17v and pulses..I don't think its even a good pmw controller, let alone mppt.

I never see panel voltage operate at a sustained, higher voltage than battery voltage whenever charging...to bad, as the panels put out around 24v no load voltage.

The amperage to the battery is about the same, maybe a bit less than the controller that came with the harbor freight kit.

I've aquired (4) 235 watt, 24v panels, a xantrex c35 controller, eight 6v, 325 ah batteries, and a 1800 watt modified sine wave inverter. I don't plan on keeping the controller or inverter. I'd like to aquire a hi quality mppt controller. As my system may double in size to 2kw in the future, I want to size the controller accordingly. I was looking at midnite solar's classic mppt controllers, and see they size them by maximum volts coming in from the panels, yes? If I double the array size, which controller size should I get? (

regards,

Ken

Comments