Home made PV system

Options
mlodewyks
mlodewyks Registered Users Posts: 4
Hi all,

I'm quite new in the whole solar setup field, so be gentle. :D

I've been busy constructing panels, building a battery enclosure etc for the past couple of months, and I need some questions answered before I can continue with my green endeavors. First some background and eventual outcome (planned) info:

My intention is to end up with a system that can atleast supply power to the house during the day, and run lights and TV type appliances during load shedding hours.

I've bought a 6kVa 6000W Home UPS inverter (http://www.maidenelectronics.co.za/pINS6000/e-6000w--6kva-Home-UPS---Pure-Sine-Inverter.aspx), will have 16 105AH Deltec deep cycle batteries, and 16 60W home made PV panels on the roof. I used 3x6 Evergreen Solar cells to construct the panels, and the first 4 panels are all giving 19.5V and 3 - 3.5amps in full sun. On cloudy days like yesterday the measurements are 18V and 1amp. Here in Johannesburg we get an average of 8.7hours sunshine per day during a year, so for most of the time the panels should be running at "full" output. (I hope).

The first question I need answered is this: The current panels put out 3.5 amps (I intend to run 3 panels in series to charge a 4 battery bank), if I build panels using 6x6 cells which are rated to put out approx 8 amps in full sun, and I connect these panels into the array, what would the effect of the 3.5 amps and 8 amps panels be on each other? How does the amp output change if I use different amp rated panels together?

Thanks for helping,
Martin

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Home made PV system

A few quick questions;

What is your battery bank voltage?

What type of charge controller will you be using?

Have you informed your insurance and morgage holder of your intention of mounting homemade panels on your roof?