To go micro or hybrid, that is the question

Options
techntrek
techntrek Solar Expert Posts: 1,372 ✭✭✭
Hello all, first post. I’m a newbie to solar in the sense that I don’t have a solar PV or solar thermal system. Not-so-newbie with an electronics background as a hobby, Homepower subscription for many years, I installed a backup inverter (6 kw/8.5 KVA) and battery bank (22 kw) a few years ago, and I’ve run the numbers for my dream PV system a few times over the years. Ok, more than a few. I’ve been to wind-sun.com many times in the last few years drooling over the latest dollar-per-watt pricing and looking for parts like a shunt, for my backup system. Only recently saw that they have a forum.

I was hoping to be an early Volt buyer (electric car has been another long-term want), but I feel they priced it too high so partly in protest and partly to put that kind of investment to better use, I’m now seriously considering making the jump into a PV system sooner rather than later. Solar thermal isn’t an option due to my property layout, with 200 feet minimum between the corner of my house and a location with good southern exposure. Much easier to move electrons 200 feet to my service panels than water molecules over 250 feet. With future plans for a ground-sourced heat pump that takes away some of the need for solar thermal. I also use a wood stove all winter. So that leaves me with installing a decently-sized PV system.