help with smart nimh solar charger

Skyko
Skyko Solar Expert Posts: 121 ✭✭✭✭✭
Hi guys, newbie here.

My background is EE and I have quite a bit of experience designing circuit boards and working with microcontrollers. I also really enjoy hiking and like my gadgets.

So... I recently purchased a 26 watt Brunton CIGS foldable panel and a 14 watt Powerfilm rollable panel. I got both because I wanted to compare peformance and useability while out in the wild. I also have a 60 watt monocrystaline rigid panel for test comparisions. I live in an area with poor insolation (Seattle) but like to hike in the southwest too.

For hikes of about 2 weeks I am liking the Powerfilm rollable panel. This thing is pretty cool...marine grade and a very cool demonstration video of it getting shot 7 or 8 times with a 9mm handgun and still outputting 98% of capacity! Definately a rugged panel weighing about an ounce a watt. This seems a reasonable tradeoff vs taking a ton of extra batteries since the batteries themselves are about an ounce and produce maybe 2 watts. 2 hours of full sun and the panel has paid for itself in weight (in hiking everything is expensive in cost so that is not really a consideration).