Off-Grid Barndominium inverter suggestions

Options
SilverIris
SilverIris Registered Users Posts: 16 ✭✭
Hello everyone. I am a complete newb here when it comes to Solar and Off-Grid matters, but have an excellent understanding of DC power and a solid understanding of the basics of AC power. Before jumping into the nuts and bolts of my questions, here's a little background on me. I've been modding Mazda RX-7s since 2007, including a 20B conversion in 2012. Anyone that knows Japanese cars knows that lots talk about it, some try it and only a handful succeed at it. It takes mastering several disciplines to accomplish, including a fantastic understanding of Watt's Law and Ohm's Law. Now I write maintenance manuals, translated from Japanese.

In terms of A/C, I've already done a complete household install from scratch. To make a long story short, I didn't like how the previous person did it, so I ripped all of it out and started fresh. RX-7 owners are quite picky about wiring and the engineering we put into our cars, and keeping things tidy/organized goes a long way when servicing/modification is desired. The general Modus du Operandi is "Overbuilt and Underworked"

Anyway, I'm designing a Barndominium capable of supporting the average automotive-inclined family and had a few questions about going off-grid with it.

After doing the math, referenced to the US national average for household electrical consumption in 2020 (10,715 kWh, or ~30 KWh per 24 hours), I've determined that 676 Sq.Ft of Solar Panels (assuming 15 watts/Sq.Ft) in full sun will satisfy the need in just under 3 hours. Anything after that would go into the battery bank. Probably overkill, but I thought it wise to account for inefficient conditions such as rain/snow/etc.