Waterproof electrical housing for charge controller and inverter question.

GoldpanTam
GoldpanTam Registered Users, Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 2
Hi All,

I'm a newbie. Please don't laugh at my system LOL.  I started with the Harbor Freight 45 w solar panel kit. I have just upgraded to the Renogy wanderer charge controller. I have the harbor freight 700/1000 inverter and a 100 amp hour battery. I was using the system to power a tv, roku and charge cell phones in a tiny house I built out of a 20 ft refrigerated shipping container. Now I want to move the system and hook the battery up to a small camper and run the inverter to the tiny house. This is just for a mountain getaway I use about one weekend a month. So here is the rub. This needs to be portable. I was thinking of mounting it to a metal wheeled cart that I have and I want to use a waterproof electrical housing. Has anyone ever done this or is there any down side to something like this? I was looking at outdoor wifi housing boxes.  My first thought is always fire. I would love any suggestions as to what you would do if on a budget. Thanks in advanced. Also, would a system this small need a fuse? The inverter does shut off at high voltage as a precaution. 

Thanks!
Gold Pan Tam. 

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 2020 #2
    I built something like that, for power (recharge tools) at burning man in 2000
      I made the cart/dolly separate, so the power station would not "walk away" easily

Batteries in the bottom provide ballast, wind never blew it over in 10 years
     ( yes - thats a Unisolar 60w panel )