New to solar - no load output

dsdurkes
dsdurkes Registered Users Posts: 1
edited August 2020 in Solar Beginners Corner #1
Hi, I am new to solar power. 
I have a 20W panel feeding a 12V lead acid rechargeable battery and trying to drive a 12v water pump. The panel fully charges the battery (checked with multimeter) but the load is 0v to the pump. I use 14 gauge wire with a maximum length of 30 feet from the controller to the pump.
I could connect the battery directly to the pump but something tells me this isn't a good idea. The controller is a TP/Solar PWM controller that came with the Panel.
Not sure what I need to do at this point and thought I'd post to folks more knowledgeable than me.
Thanks!
Don

Comments

• Photowhit
    Photowhit Solar Expert Posts: 6,002 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do you now the pump works?
    Are you connecting the panel directly to the battery?
    Do you know the capacity of the battery?
    The wattage of the pump?
    Home system 4000 watt (Evergreen) array standing, with 2 Midnite Classic Lites,  Midnite E-panel, Magnum MS4024, Prosine 1800(now backup) and Exeltech 1100(former backup...lol), 660 ah 24v Forklift battery(now 10 years old). Off grid for 20 years (if I include 8 months on a bicycle).
    - Assorted other systems, pieces and to many panels in the closet to not do more projects.
  • InCogKneeToe
    InCogKneeToe Registered Users Posts: 73 ✭✭

Think of it as 2 separate systems. Solar Battery Charger, and a Battery Operated Pump.

If your Battery is fully Charged, you basically no longer need the Solar Panel, Charge Controller. Just the Battery and the Pump.

So your problem is with the Pump or Pump Wiring. Now any 12v pump I have worked with draws 7-9amps while running. 30' of 14awg wiring might be a bit small for 7-9amps, but it should still turn the motor, of smoke trying to.