How to tweak absorb

Options

Comments

• Freewilley
    Freewilley Solar Expert Posts: 228 ✭✭
    Options
    No, I think I have been overcharging.
    I am not good at conversions, but there are times I am bulkcharging at 1200 watts, or possibly more...either with the genny and/or solar (when my sig says 1300 watt PV, that is actual, not nominal which would be 1550) I see 1350 often, not just at noon on a good day.

So my problem with not getting to 80% IS that I have been overcharging.....possibly?
    By the way, while I have read about overcharging and had it on my mind, I did get advice that as long as the battery is not hot it should not  be a problem
    But of course, this is a different type of problem, that the overcharging is causing a change in parameters that I am not aware of. And if true, one of the big issues is that the pattern I am seeing could ALSO be sulphated batteries. That lead to a vicious circle of cramming the batteries to run many EQ cycles.
    Mate, VFX 2812, FM 60 & MX 60, 2 Full River AGM 400 6v, 1400 watt Solar Array, Yamaha 3000iSEB inverter gen
    12 volt Flojet water pump
    off grid summer home in northern Ontario
  • mvas
    mvas Registered Users Posts: 395 ✭✭✭
    edited August 2017 #63
    Options
    Over-Charging means your battery bank is at 100% SOC at the end of Absorb Charge, but you continue charging.
    Under-Charging means your battery bank never gets to 100% SOC at the end of Absorb Charge.

What are your batteries doing during Absorb Mode ?
    a) Boiling hard with large bubbles = over-charge
    b) Many small bubbles = 100% SOC
    c) Not bubbling = under-charge

The terms Overcharge / Undercharge, do not specify the Rate / Amps at which you are charging during Bulk Mode.
    How do you have the Roll's S-550's connected ?
    Either the two old batteries OR the two new batteries in series, for a 12 volt Bank?

2,568 Watt-Hours = 50% DOD x 428AH x 12 Volts

S-550 battery
    ===========
    C/20 rating = 428 AH