Wind & Solar Charge Controler one battery bank

2»

Comments

• bill von novak
    bill von novak Solar Expert Posts: 891 ✭✭✭✭
    Lumisol said:
    Ever have to autorotate a helicopter? No?

Have to?  No.  Done it?  Yes - and it is a very freaky feeling.  (Of course, I'm primarily a fixed wing pilot, and just slowing down below 40kts on final is freaky for me.)
    The A/C is built with a very large margin of efficiency and it will not loose enough to even be worth mentioning.
    Quite possible.  The efficiency loss may be low; of course, in that case harvested energy will be low as well.
    Like putting a hand out the car widow at 55 mph will reduce efficiency of the car.
    An excellent example!  It will reduce the efficiency a tiny bit because your hand is small.  Now, if you mount a wind turbine on the top of an EV, and try to use that to charge the car's battery, you will ALWAYS lose more to drag than you gain in power.   Same principle.
  • Lumisol
    Lumisol Registered Users Posts: 374 ✭✭✭
    edited May 2017 #33
    Lumisol said:
    Ever have to autorotate a helicopter? No?

Have to?  No.  Done it?  Yes - and it is a very freaky feeling.  (Of course, I'm primarily a fixed wing pilot, and just slowing down below 40kts on final is freaky for me.)
    I suppose you can prove your claims? Without proof, it never happened.
    Like putting a hand out the car widow at 55 mph will reduce efficiency of the car.
    An excellent example!  It will reduce the efficiency a tiny bit because your hand is small.  Now, if you mount a wind turbine on the top of an EV, and try to use that to charge the car's battery, you will ALWAYS lose more to drag than you gain in power.   Same principle.
    It's not even close, the A/C does not move down the road at 55 mph. If it does, jump!
  • Lumisol
    Hmmm... does this forum have an 'ignore' button for those we wish to ignore?
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin