Help.. New to solar energy. . Dont want to get the wrong stuff

TheNewGuy
TheNewGuy Registered Users Posts: 9 ✭✭
So im totally new at solar energy. I have so many questions i dont know where to start asking them..( Trying to be as cost effecient as possible.) I get between 5-6 good sun hours daily.

1.) I have 218 watts of stuff to run in my camper, what size of solar panel do i need?
2.) I typically run these between 4-6 hours at night , what size of battery(s) would i need to run these without interruption?
3.) What size of inverter and regulator would be needed?
4.) Any other helpful information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks im so confused. . they only thing i know is i want a complete offgrid solar energy system.

Comments

• oil pan 4
    oil pan 4 Solar Expert Posts: 767 ✭✭✭✭
    You did the first thing correctly. Asking before buying.
    Do these loads actually need 218 watts or is that name plate?

Solar hybrid gasoline generator, 7kw gas, 180 watts of solar, Morningstar 15 amp MPPT, group 31 AGM, 900 watt kisae inverter.

Solar roof top GMC suburban, a normal 3/4 ton suburban with 180 watts of panels on the roof and 10 amp genasun MPPT, 2000w samlex pure sine wave inverter, 12v gast and ARB air compressors.

• TheNewGuy
    218 watts is the total from adding all watts on my t.v, converter box, home theater system, and light bulbs..

Im currently using a 2 cycle generator and just wanted to rid my self of continually pay for the upkeep of running it.. Due to the distance from my camper and the nearest town..

I will research these options you presented to me .. thanks for quick response. . ill probably have more questions shortly.. Haha
  • westbranch
    westbranch Solar Expert Posts: 5,183 ✭✭✭✭
    Are they 12 volt DC or 110V AC or a mix? At least the lights should be 12V and running off the battery of the camper... use a Kill-a-watt meter , ~ $20 on Amazon or Ebay that will give you a real reading of consump0tion in Watts.  hth