Newbie question Re: 24v battery string and 12v inverter

S2T_Bama
S2T_Bama Registered Users Posts: 8 ✭✭
Hi everyone,
I'm a newbie to solar power. I've been tinkering around with a set of Harbor Freight panels for several months now. I upgraded to a Renogy (was Tracer) 20A MPPT charge controller which allowed me to wire my 3x15 watt panels in series. I use this to run security lights at night.
Anyway, I'm trying to expand and have just gotten a Grape Solar 160 watt panel which will replace the HF panels. If (when) I add a 2nd 160 watt panel, the charge controller limits on amperage will require me to convert to 24v. I plan to use 4 x GC2 batteries in series at that point.

My question is, can I connect a 12v inverter to the "center" 2 batteries in this string? 

Thanks in advance for your guidance!

Adam
(S2T_Bama)

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    S2T_Bama said:
    My question is, can I connect a 12v inverter to the "center" 2 batteries in this string?
    You can, but you should not.  You need to try and keep the batteries balanced.  By drawing current from some, but not all of them you unbalance the bank and that will shorten the life of the battery bank in several ways.

--vtMaps
    4 X 235watt Samsung, Midnite ePanel, Outback VFX3524 FM60 & mate, 4 Interstate L16, trimetric, Honda eu2000i
  • BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,431 admin
    4x golf cart batteries--You are right in the area where you could go with a larger 12 volt solar charge controller, or convert over to a 24 volt battery bank (and AC inverter/24 volt loads).

What are your load needs? If you do not grow the system (or loads) much more--Either could work out fine for you.

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • S2T_Bama