how to go into "absorp mode" with load?

pyana1
pyana1 Solar Expert Posts: 39 ✭✭
please bare with me as I'm still new with RE, with that being said .

I have a Morningstar 60 amp charge controller , 4 Trojan t-105's and 1005.5 PV watt (12 volt system)

My load is a Haier chest freezer "start up amps 12 A and run amps 1.69", that I'm trying to run it 24 hours.

I currently have the controller set to battery type #5 which is a flooded battery setting - "absorp stage 14.60" - "float 13.50" and "equalize 15.30" .

And I am having trouble getting HIS system to go into absorp stage everyday, I can't seem to hit the set point of 14.60 with load because the controller keeps me at 50 amps although it's a 60 amp controller (even during "bulk" charge)

my next option I thought would be to set the controller to battery type # 4 which is AGM/flooded - absorp 14.40 - float 13.70 - equalize 15.10 . (Lower set point)

The remaining set point settings are much more lower but they are for "sealed and gel" batteries .

I don't have access to a laptop to customize HIS settings and out of curiosity What would happen if I chose a "seal or gel" setting for a "flooded" battery ?

Comments

• Vic
    Vic Solar Expert Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭✭
    Hi pyana1,

Believe that you might be in the Tropics ... anyway, Warm/Hot PVs will reduce the maximum amount of PV power available. Warm batteries will reduce the Absorb voltage required to maintain the Absorb stage. Also, if the Charge Controller (CC) is in a warm/hot environment, it may well be Limiting its output current to keep from over-heating.

You did not exactly say weather you are IN Absorb, but with a lower Absorb voltage, or that you cannot get to Absorb, or stay there many times.

And, we are also guessing about the Freezer's AC line voltage, and therefore how much POWER that the freezer is demanding.