Nickel-Iron batteries

Options
lazza
lazza Solar Expert Posts: 336 ✭✭✭
HI

Just come across a guy with a load of nickel iron batteries. He wants to integrate them into a normal 24V off-grid system. I've never worked with these type of batteries before

Can they be charged with the same charging parameters as lead-acid batteries?

Cheers
Larry

Comments

• BB.
    BB. Super Moderators, Administrators Posts: 33,447 admin
    Options
    Re: Nickel-Iron batteries

Here is one thread from a couple years ago with lots of information and links:

Compare Nickel-Iron Edison Batteries and Chinese Ni-Fe Cells

-Bill
    Near San Francisco California: 3.5kWatt Grid Tied Solar power system+small backup genset
  • mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Nickel-Iron batteries

NO, NiFe batteries need higher charging voltage than lead-acid banks of the same base voltage.

You need to program you solar and AC based chargers to meet those needs. Just charging to lead-acid will barely give you half capacity. EQ voltage is getting close to the daily charge voltage needed. I charge my 48V bank at 67V, which the solar can manage, but my inverter, running as charger, can only get to 64v leaving me a bit short in cloudy weather.
    Powerfab top of pole PV mount | Listeroid 6/1 w/st5 gen head | XW6048 inverter/chgr | Iota 48V/15A charger | Morningstar 60A MPPT | 48V, 800A NiFe Battery (in series)| 15, Evergreen 205w "12V" PV array on pole | Midnight ePanel | Grundfos 10 SO5-9 with 3 wire Franklin Electric motor (1/2hp 240V 1ph ) on a timer for 3 hr noontime run - Runs off PV ||
    || Midnight Classic 200 | 10, Evergreen 200w in a 160VOC array ||
    || VEC1093 12V Charger | Maha C401 aa/aaa Charger | SureSine | Sunsaver MPPT 15A

solar: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Solar
    gen: http://tinyurl.com/LMR-Lister ,

• MattZ
    MattZ Registered Users Posts: 2
    Options
    Mike95490
    I also live offgrid and would like to compare