New off grid / solar setup

Options
zipsort
zipsort Registered Users Posts: 16
I recently have purchased an off grid property that already has a solar system in place. I have never used any solar before but am pretty familiar with electronics.

Basically I am looking to start upgrading it a little bit at a time while learning. The system is totally sufficient during the day time for our use, but not at night (couple fans on and the inverter shuts down in the middle of the night..) so I assume we need to add more batteries. They said the batteries were only 6 months old but who knows

24 volt Current Setup

8 x 100watt unknown panels
Xantrex Inverter - http://www.wholesalesolar.com/products.folder/inverter-folder/Xantrex_trace_TR3624-120-60.html
Outback Controller MX-60 - http://www.wholesalesolar.com/products.folder/controller-folder/outbackmx-60.html
4 trojan L16 batteries - http://www.trojanbattery.com/products/L16RE-B6V.aspx

I get a buzzing coming from the inverter, and any TV that I plug in. So I'm thinking right now my weak link is the inverter that needs to be replaced and maybe a couple more added batteries (if possible)

I would be interested in swapping out the panels for new ones as well, but not right away. If anyone could suggest a few moves I should take I would greatly appreciate it. Maybe some basic stuff I am missing, but the batteries seem to always be around 24v when the system shuts down...

Comments

• vtmaps
    vtmaps Solar Expert Posts: 3,741 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: New off grid / solar setup
    zipsort wrote: »
    If anyone could suggest a few moves I should take I would greatly appreciate it. Maybe some basic stuff I am missing, but the batteries seem to always be around 24v when the system shuts down...

Welcome to the forum,

My advice is to design your ideal system on paper, then look and see what you can do to get there from what you have.