Battery Bank too big for 900W?

Options
Feenix
Feenix Registered Users Posts: 16
Hi All!

I am fairly new to solar, and have a small system set up at my house that was basically there when I bought the place. I have 900W of PV, and eight GC2 batteries that barely pass the SG test after I equalize them.

I was hoping to purchase a new battery bank, and have my eye on the Rolls/Surrette S-530s. I originally wanted to get 12 of these batteries in three strings but I have a few questions.

-Some people suggest not having more than two strings.
-I live in Southern Arizon and get a ton of sun. I also only use around 1,000-1,500 watts per day. Would I find that I would have trouble keeping the battery bank charged with 900W of PV?

Thanks so much!

-Kristen

Comments

• ggunn
    ggunn Solar Expert Posts: 1,973 ✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: Battery Bank too big for 900W?
    Feenix wrote: »
    I also only use around 1,000-1,500 watts per day.
    Watts is a measure of power consumption rate, it can't show an energy consumption amount. Do you mean that you use 1-1.5 kilowatt-hours per day?
  • Feenix
    Options

That's exactly what I mean.
  • icarus
    icarus Solar Expert Posts: 5,436 ✭✭✭✭
    Options

Don't know what voltge you bank is wired to , but at 12 vdc, those 4 Gc batteries are around 900 ah at 12 vdc or 450 ah at 24 vdc. The 900 watts of PV is going to struggle to put ut more than about 55 Amps into 12 volts, runs 27 into 24. Ideally those batteries would me to see ~ 10% of ah capacity for charge current, or about 90 amp into 12, 45 into 24.

Since you only use 1-1.5 kwh/day, I think the PV size is about right, but the battery bank is too big. Given a choice, if you need to replace the batteries. (probably because of chronic undercharging!) I would build a battery bank of ~ 450 ah, (4 Gc batteries in series parallel for 12 vdc or 4 seriesed for 24.