system design question

louielouie
louielouie Registered Users Posts: 18
Noob here.
My system will be off grid.
This will be an upgrade/expansion for me as I currently have two kyocera 235watt panels feeding a morningstar MPPT-45, feeding a 12vdc system.
I have only read 14 pages of the beginners forum, so I guess you could say I haven’t done all my research before asking this question(s). I have seen bits/pieces of what I want to do, but not something that addresses my specific question. Of course, this is where cariboocoot starts getting that déjà vu feeling.
My proposed system:
Did I mention my system will be off grid?
Two parallel pv arrays. The arrays will be identical twins, panels, power. All of the uncontrollables will be present, wire length, shading, etc. Each array will feed a charge controller. It will be up to me to insure no component is overloaded, connected properly, wiring properly sized, combiners, breakers, etc.
What I would like to do:
Did I mention my system will be off grid?
Each array will tie/feed their own charge controller. The two charge controllers will then combine/join to tie into the battery bank. The system will be 48vdc. I can sense I have just angered Neil(?) and his 12vdc system.
What I am asking/confused about is:
Did I mention my system is off grid?
Should both charge controllers be MPPT(morningstar)?
Should I instead arrange the battery bank in parallel as well? I.e., each array would feed an MPPT that would feed a battery bank. I would then make the battery bank 24vdc and the inverter as well.
I don't plan on violating more than half the NEC, and/or three of the commandments. Of course, after I start assembling the system, all bets are off.

Comments

• mike95490
    mike95490 Solar Expert Posts: 9,583 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Re: system design question