L16's vs. GC2's?

Options
PorkChopsMmm
PorkChopsMmm Solar Expert Posts: 189 ✭✭✭✭✭
I saw a recommendation to try and purchase 6volt L16 batteries when building a battery bank instead of GC2's. I ran some numbers and it looks like L16's are twice the price -- are they worth it? For me to double my battery bank size from ~225AH to 450AH at 48V it would cost ~$1440 for 16 batteries @ $90 a piece or ~$2880 for 8 Surrette S-530's @$360 from our forum sponsor.

What do you think... worth the cost? I am still learning and I'm not sure spending that much on batteries with about the same power level is a good investment. I mean, I could replace my battery bank to a fresh set and come out even. I am open to all suggestions -- I am looking to double my battery bank this summer and I am trying to see what is out there. Thanks!

Comments

• niel
    niel Solar Expert Posts: 10,300 ✭✭✭✭
    Options
    Re: L16's vs. GC2's?

if your present level of capacity from the gc2s is fine for your loads then why up it?. upping capacity does mean upping the charging amps too.

if it is a case of not enough ah then there is the option of more in pv and operate as many loads during the daytime as possible to relieve the stress on the batteries later.
  • PorkChopsMmm
    Options

In the summer we do fine but we don't get sporadic sun in winter months. I plan on doubling our solar power and also doubling the battery bank. We have to run the generator *every day* right now. I think making some changes in the home (e.g. removing an external tankless water heater that uses as much power as my fridge when it is freezing outside to an indoor model without this requirement) would help but I need extra wintertime capacity. Using power only during the day doesn't help anything when the sun isn't shining.
  • Eric L
    Eric L Solar Expert Posts: 262 ✭✭
    Options